Posted in Awesome Kids, Reviews by Alexander

A Call to Arms

book cover of A Call to Arms

Reviewer: Alex

Book by Cube Kid

The book “A Call To Arms” is book 2 of the “Tales Of An 8-Bit Kitten” series and is about a kitten named Eeebs who went into the Nether and was magically transformed into a super powerful kitten. In book 2 he finds out that he can learn monster abilities by being affected by them. Eeebs has dark blue fur and he can stand up on 2 feet. Eeebs can also teach people monster abilities like the aspect of the spider that makes it so you can climb up walls like a spider. “ Tales An 8-Bit Kitten” is based in Minecraft. I like this book because it is about a kitten and I really like kittens and cats. I also like this book because Eeebs is not brave, disobedient, and does not understand a lot of stuff. People who like kittens, Minecraft, and monsters should read this book.

Posted in Book Review, Reviews by Alexander

Dragon Rider and Dragon Rider: The Griffin’s Feather. 

By Cornelia Funke

Review by Alex.

These books are about a dragon named Firedrake and a kid named Ben.  Near the end of the first book Ben finds out he is the Dragon Rider and what that means.  In book one Firedrake is looking for the original home of the dragons: The Rim of Heaven, and Ben helps him.  Ben and Firedrake in book two are looking for a griffin’s sun feather than can make everything grow to save the last moon feathered peagasus.

I like these books because it reminds me that just if you can’t see something that does not mean it is not real.

I recommend these books to people who like dragons, adventures and monsters.

Posted in Awesome Kids, Book Review, Graphic Novels, Reviews by Alexander

Wings of Fire: The Graphic Novel

I read this but because I haven’t read the Wings of Fire book series, i didn’t really get it. My cousin, Alexander, is a huge Wings of Fire fan so I asked him to read this. My aunt said he was super excited to do it. The illustrator is Mike Holmes and I do love his work!

image from

Wings of Fire: The Graphic Novel Book One: The Dragonet Prophecy is about 5 dragonets and a prophecy.  The prophecy tells how to end the war that has lasted for twenty years.  The dragonets must choose one of three sandwing queens to rule the sandwing tribe. This book follows the five dragonets as they escape and attempt to find their homes and meet all the queens so they can know all their personalities in person and not just from stories and scrolls, because you never know when to trust a scroll.

In the novel Wings of Fire: The Dragonet Prophecy it says in the prologue what happens to the skywing egg and in the Wings of Fire graphic novel it shows them hatching.  Both tell you different parts of the story, so you should read them both.  Other than the prologue, the stories are the same.  The characters in the graphic novel don’t look like the characters on the cover of the original book.  The graphic novel has a nice story line.  The illustrations are very detailed and look even cooler than they did in my imagination for some of the dragons.

I think people who like dragons, fantasy and prophecies and escaping would like this book.  People who trust scroll could learn from this book series.

The prophecy….. “When the war has lasted 20 years… the dragonets will come.  When the land is soaked in blood and tears… the dragonets will come.  Find the seawing egg of deepest blue, wings of night shall come to you. The  largest egg in mountain high will give to you the wings of sky. For the wings of earth, search through the mud for an egg the color of dragon blood.  And hidden alone from the rival queens, the sandwing eggs awaits unseen.  Of three queens who blister and blaze and burn, two shall die and one shall learn if she bows to a fate that is stronger and higher, she’ll have the power of wings of fire.  Five eggs to hatch on brightest night, five dragons born to end the fight. Darkness will rise to bring the light.  The dragonets are coming…”

Posted in Book Review, Reviews by Alexander

Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard

Image result for sophie quire

By Jonathan Auxier

This is a guest review by Alex and Bridget

This book is about magic books and a girl. It also involves Peter Nimble. The magic books are basically the bad guys but the story guards think they are good. So the girl’s name is Sophie Quire and she is the last storyguard until the end when the magic books are destroyed to stop the bad thing the books made.

People who like magic and “D & D” (Alex note Dungeon and Dragons) will like this book.

This book get 20 stars from Alex and 40 stars from Bridget for a total of 60 stars.

Posted in Book Review, Reviews by Alexander

Peter Nimble and his Fantastic Eyes

Image result for peter nimble

By Jonathan Auxier

This is a guest review/Bridget review.

Bridget: Peter Nimble is a blind boy.  In this story he gets a pair of fantastic eyes.  One, the onyx one, turns Peter into the last animal he touches.  He thinks he should never touch a snake, or he won’t be able to get the eyes back out!

SPOILER ALERT!!!! SPOILER ALERT!!!! SPOILER ALERT!!!!My favorite part is when he finds out that he is the true heir to the Kingdom of Hazelport, Prince Noname.

Guest reviewer Alex:  My favorite part is when he used his bare hand to defeat the armor that the imposter king was wearing.  He hurt his hand so badly it couldn’t be fixed so it had to be replaced with a silver fishhook that he uses as a sword!

Both: We think that people who like kingdoms and fighting and adventures and Dungeons and Dragons would like this book.